Recommended Reading

Award Winning Books
Outstanding Books for the College Bound
The books on this list offer opportunities to discover new ideas, and provide an introduction to the fascinating variety of subjects within an academic discipline. Readers will gain an understanding of our diverse world and build a foundation to deepen their response to that world. This list is developed every five years.
Rosie Award
The Eliot Rosewater Indiana High School Book Award (Rosie Award) is chosen annually by students across Indiana in grades nine through twelve. Students at participating high schools and public libraries who read any of approximately 20 nominated books are eligible to rate each book they've read. Ballots are available on the Rosie website. The votes are tabulated each May, and the winner is announced.
Printz Award
The Michael L. Printz Award recognizes the best YA books from each calendar year.  It serves to promote the growing field of YA books and inspire wider readership in the genre. Newbery Award
The Newbery Medal was named for eighteenth-century British bookseller John Newbery. It is awarded annually by the Association for Library Service to Children, a division of the American Library Association, to the author of the most distinguished contribution to American literature for children.
 National Book Award
Established in 1950, the National Book Award is an American literary prize administered by the National Book Foundation, a nonprofit organization. The mission of the National Book Foundation and the National Book Awards is to celebrate the best of American literature, to expand its audience, and to enhance the cultural value of great writing in America. Morris Award
The William C. Morris YA Debut Award, first awarded in 2009, honors a debut book published by a first-time author writing for teens and celebrating impressive new voices in young adult literature.
Mensa Reading Lists
To encourage the joy of reading, the Mensa Foundation has developed the Mensa for Kids Excellence in Reading Program. Choose from the 7th-8th Grade Reading List or the 9th-12 Grade Reading List and read hundreds of genius approved titles.  Earn a commemorative certificate in recognition of your outstanding achievement and get an Excellence in Reading T-shirt, too!

Man Booker Prize

The prize, which launched in 1969, aims to promote the finest in fiction by rewarding the best novel of the year written in English and published in the United Kingdom.
Pulitzer Prize for Fiction
The Pulizter Prize for Fiction is awarded each year to distinguished fiction published in book form during the year by an American author, preferably dealing with American life.